2019 Junior Applications Open Now

The Cliburn invites talented pianists to apply for the Second Cliburn International Junior Piano Competition and Festival, for pianists age 13 to 17, taking place May 31–June 8, 2019, in Dallas, Texas. Twenty-four pianists, age 13 to 17, will be invited to compete, and, new for the second edition, 14 additional pianists will be accepted as non-competing festival participants and will have the opportunity to take part in master classes, private lessons, workshops, and other elective activities.

2018 Classically Cliburn Gala to honor Van Cliburn

Join us April 6 at Ridglea Country Club as we pay tribute to the 60th Anniversary of Van Cliburn’s historic International Tchaikovsky Competition victory in Moscow at the height of the Cold War. A Russian Romance continues the Cliburn gala reputation of bringing together fabulous music and good friends to support the growth of all things Cliburn. It is these outstanding programs, and the tremendous reach of our competitions, that so richly enhance the lives of those in our local community and across the globe. We will also honor immediate past chairman Carla Kemp Thompson, and her husband Kelly, for years of tremendous service and dedication.

2019 Junior Competition Announced

The second edition of the Cliburn International Junior Piano Competition and Festival will take place May 31–June 8, 2019, on the campus of SMU Meadows School of the Arts, culminating with three finalists performing full concertos with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra at Morton H Meyerson Symphony Center! Alessio Bax will join us as jury chairman. Applications will open March 1, 2018.

Cliburn Gold 2017 Digital Album Released

Just 13 days after Yekwon Sunwoo was named the gold medalist of the Fifteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, Decca Gold, Universal Music’s U.S. classical label, has released Cliburn Gold 2017! The digital album features a selection of Yekwon’s live solo performances from the Competition, including Ravel’s La Valse and Rachmaninoff’s Piano Sonata No. 2.

DOWNLOAD YOURS TODAY or PRE-ORDER THE CD, which drops August 18.

Read more about Yekwon Sunwoo HERE.